(405) 425-5070
Photo by Jeff Montgomery

Newsmakers, October 2019

Featured Photo (above): Botham Jean scholarship winners Courtney Porter, Brittany Tate, Yui Kondo and Tonio Montez with business dean Allen Frazier.


Yui Kondo, Tonio Montez, Brittany Tate and Courtney Porter, as recipients of the first Botham Jean Business Scholarships awarded by Harding University in Searcy, Ark. The scholarships will support historically underrepresented populations as they pursue their degrees. The program was established by Harding and PwC in honor of Botham Jean, a 2016 alumnus tragically killed Sept. 6, 2018. 


Micah Cobb

Matt Carter, with Campus for Christ’s Stephen Eckstein Award, recognizing a lifetime of achievement in campus ministry.

Carter serves as director of admissions at Harding School of Theology in Memphis, Tenn.

Micah Cobb, with Campus for Christ’s Jim Brinkerhoff Award, recognizing a person who has done particularly outstanding work during the past school year.

Cobb serves as a campus minister at Auburn University in Alabama.


Lisa Fraze

George Welty, as discipleship minister for the Northwest Church of Christ in St. Petersburg, Fla.

Lisa Fraze, as a major gifts officer for Lubbock Christian University in Texas.

Filed under: Botham Jean scholarship Milestones Newsmakers Stephen Eckstein Award

Don’t miss out on more stories like this.

Subscribe today to receive more inspiring articles like this one delivered straight to your inbox twice a month.

Did you enjoy this article?

Your donation helps us not only keep our quality of journalism high, but helps us continue to reach more people in the Churches of Christ community.

Personal Info

Dedicate this Donation

In Honor/Memory of Details

Card Notification Details

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.
Billing Details

Donation Total: $3 One Time