(405) 425-5070


APPOINTED: Renee Cornett, San Antonio, Texas, to the Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee of the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners by former Texas Governor George W. Bush.

SELECTED: Johnie Simpson, Frederick, Md., to the position of Leave No Trace Coordinator for the State of Maryland. Simpson is also the scoutmaster for a Boy Scout troop sponsored by the Frederick church. Kristin Clark, San Antonio, Texas, sixth chair viola for the Texas Music Educator’s Association Region 12 Symphony.

WON: Jeremy Stewart, Starkville, Miss., a Silver Key in the Mississippi Regional Scholastic Art Awards competition. Roddy Cramer, Harlingen, Texas, a gold medal in bowling at the Special Olympics. Cramer went on to place fourth in the state.

ELECTED: Gary George, McMinnville, Ore., to another term in the Oregon State Senate. Dr. K. Michael Parker, Norman, Okla., future president of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry.

PROMOTED: David Kessler, Reid Melson and Drury Morris, Florence, Ala., to the rank of Eagle Scout.

NAMED: Ann McKinney Johnson, Franklin, Tenn., an administrative law judge for the state of Tennessee.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY: 100th: Maude Irene Milstead, Abilene, Texas. Naomi Malone, Carlsbad, N.M. 97th: Patricia Wooldridge, Santa Cruz, Calif. Alma Dudley, Santa Cruz, Calif. 95th: Verdie Barnett, Florence, Ala. 92nd: Thelma Totty, Centerville, Tenn. 90th: Lena King, San Jose, Calif. Marie O’Rear, Iowa City, Iowa. Emma Copeland, Wenatchee, Wash. Widde Johnson, Wenatchee, Wash. Fronia Pratt, Wenatchee, Wash. 88th: Lillie Breazeale, Nixa, Mo. Allene Houston, Centerville, Tenn. 87th: Christine Coble, Centerville, Tenn. Alfred O’Guin, Centerville, Tenn. 83rd: Tom Lambert, Centerville, Tenn. 82nd: Evelyn Hayes, Centerville, Tenn. Kathryn Mobley, Centerville, Tenn. 81st: Golda Wiley, Byesville, Ohio. 80th: Juanita Smart, Wewoka, Okla. Tom Shelby, Centerville, Tenn. Nancy Durham, Centerville, Tenn. J.T. Barber, Centerville, Tenn. Ruth Sawyer, Indianapolis, Ind. Elise Smith, Carlsbad, N.M. Clarence Eckman, Nottingham, England. Geri Dominy Hopkins, Jasper, Texas.

ELDER APPOINTMENTS: Jack Wall and Mike Mallett, the Evant, Texas, church. Harold Smith and Don Mathis, Jacksonville, Fla. Sherrell Speer and Dale Brown, the Abell Street church, Wharton, Texas.

MINISTER MOVES: Herman Hughes, from a faculty position at Pepperdine University, Malibu, Calif., to the Graton, Calif., church. Richard Foster, from the Hutchinson, Kan., church, to the Stafford, Kan., church. Mike Mays, from the Covington, Tenn., church, to the Woodland Hills church, Cordova, Tenn.

Filed under: Milestones Staff Reports Top Stories

Don’t miss out on more stories like this.

Subscribe today to receive more inspiring articles like this one delivered straight to your inbox twice a month.

Did you enjoy this article?

Your donation helps us not only keep our quality of journalism high, but helps us continue to reach more people in the Churches of Christ community.

Personal Info

Dedicate this Donation

In Honor/Memory of Details

Card Notification Details

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.
Billing Details

Donation Total: $3 One Time